From the Ashes of Disaster Grow the Roses of Success

One of my favorite movies as a child was the 1968 classic Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. As we entered into unemployment as a family I just kept thinking that whatever job comes next for Brandon will be better than the one he just left. And then my mind turned to a song from this childhood favorite of mine. The Roses of Success: 

The phrase “From the ashes of disaster grow the roses of success” especially stood out to me. Well, we planted the seeds of the roses of success while the ashes were still hot burning embers.

The minute Brandon got home after cleaning off his desk we both posted on Facebook about the job search. Turns out that according to How Stuff Works, using social networking is one of the top 10 things you should do to network.

“If you’ve lost your job, don’t keep that to yourself. Think about all of those Facebook friends you’ve accumulated over the years. Sure, you might be annoyed by their occasional political rants or inane kitten videos, but one of these people might be the critical connection between you and your next job.”

Turns out they are right. That same day, Monday, Brandon got some good leads on jobs he was qualified for in his field. On Wednesday and Thursday he worked on application materials for two of those jobs. Thursday evening he sent his cover letters and resumes to our good friend, Jennifer, to get her edits. Friday he submitted the applications.

We were delighted when on the following Monday Brandon got an e-mail inviting him to an interview for one of the jobs. The interview was set for the coming Thursday. Brandon felt good about the interview and was really hopeful. He was told that he would hear from them concerning the position either the next day or early the next week.

Tuesday came and Brandon did not hear from the job he interviewed for. He received an email from the other institution he applied for letting him know that they had decided to go with a different candidate, but there was no e-mail from the organization he had interviewed with.

He felt discouraged on Tuesday night. As we talked about it I told him about the last time I had dealt with unemployment. I talked about how I was forced to leave a job that I would not have left on my own. But Heavenly Father let that happen so I could be put in a situation where he could give me blessings that I had been praying for. The next job I got was at Conservice, and a few months later Brandon also got the same job. Had I stayed in the position that I had been forced to leave, I may not have met my husband. That would have been tragic indeed.

We reminded ourselves that:

https://benziher.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/positive-attitude-based-on-faith/

The next day, Wednesday, I was feeling all sorts of depressed. Nothing seemed to be in my control. My little girl was being dramatic about everything and so was I. I am not sure who started it, but we were feeding off of each other and I felt like giving up (not that giving up is ever an option for a mom). Actually, I probably started it. I went to the dentist earlier that day. Few things make me more grumpy than the dentist.

At around 4:00 in the afternoon I got another fateful phone call from Brandon. That organization he had interviewed with had called him and offered him the job! We are ecstatic. The timing could not have been better. He was let go from a job that he would have simply endured just in time for him to apply for and accept a job that is much better suited for his skills and personality.

We know our story isn’t what is normal. We were expecting the job hunt to last for months, possibly years. But Heavenly Father knows what He is doing.

This is me, jumping for joy.
This is me, jumping for joy.

So next time you feel like everything is working against you, remember that Heavenly Father is making sure that, in the long run, everything is working for you. From what seems like your ashes of disaster, with His Grace, will grow the roses of success.

Roses

Leave a Reply

